Linux Commands and Scripts

List Of CSF Firewall Commands

In this article, we will learn list of CSF Firewall commands.

ConfigServer Security & Firewall (it is also called csf in short) is a Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) firewall, Login/Intrusion Detection and Security application for Linux servers.
To complement the ConfigServer Firewall (csf), is developed a Login Failure Daemon (lfd) process that runs all the time and periodically (every X seconds) scans the latest log file entries for login attempts against your server that continually fail within a short period of time. Such attempts are often called “Brute-force attacks” and the daemon process responds very quickly to such patterns and blocks offending IP’s quickly.

Let’s get started.

1. To get help/list options

# csf –help

2. Enable CSF

# csf -e

3. Disable CSF

# csf -x

4. Restart CSF (IPtables rules)

# csf -r

5. Restart CSF/LFD (iptables rules and LFD service)

# csf -ra

6. Restart LFD only

# systemctl restart lfd

7. Check blocked IP reason

# csf -g [IP Address]

8. Block IP (Permanently)

# csf -d [IP Address]

9. Block IP (temporarily for 24 hours, define in seconds)

# csf -td [IP Address] 86400

10. Unblock IP

# csf -dr [IP Address]

11. Whitelist IP range /24

# csf -a [IP Address]/24

12. Whitelist (temporarily) IP range /24 for 24 hours

# csf -ta [IP Address]/24 86400

13. Remove all temporary IP blocks

# csf -tf

14. Remove all permanent IP blocks

# csf -df

There are many more commands, we have covered few of them.

We have seen list of CSF Firewall commands.

[Need assistance to fix this error or install tools? We’ll help you.]

Related Articles